Cultivate Your Limitless Capacity to Love

A loving heart is within all of us, a treasure trove of compassion, kindness, warmth, peace and joy.

Love can flow out toward others, or just glow from within us, with no particular recipient in mind and heart, other than the one and all.

Limitless love—is ours to freely nurture and grow into its glorious, boundless abundance.

ID-100107678

Still, I sometimes wonder what this thing called love really is. There’s probably no need to, but sometimes I just want to pin it down so I can better my own loving practice, to be the best lover I can be.

We can all cultivate our limitless capacity to love, right?

I know for sure love is not the limiting three C’s that we sometimes believe it to be—clingy (I need you to love me), conditional (I’ll love you if you do this for me), or controlling (do this or I won’t love you).

This is attachment. And, even though attachment happens (a whole lot), it’s still not something I want or even need to practice. In fact, I want to unpractice it. No, love seems like just the opposite to me.

Love liberates us.

Whether we are feeling calm or surprised, happy or sad, pleased or angry, brave or scared, trusting or wary, generous or greedy, fearless or fearful, vulnerable or hardened, kind or cruel, or anything and everything else in between and all around, love allows us to let **it go and it just lets us be, who we are.

And who we are is love, beneath all the other stuff, of course.

Even while our hearts are tightly squeezed shut, when we’re fretting or regretting over past pains, or worried about the good and plenty problems we’ll face in the future, love is present. It’s right here, right now, right up in our faces and melting into our hearts. No stubborn thought patterns or monkey mind powers can stop it.

Love frees us all.

“We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known, and when we honor the spiritual connection that grows from that offering with trust, respect, kindness and affection.

Love is not something we give or get; it is something that we nurture and grow, a connection that can only be cultivated between two people when it exists within each one of them—we can only love others as much as we love ourselves.

Shame, blame, disrespect, betrayal, and the withholding of affection damage the roots from which love grows. Love can only survive these injuries if they are acknowledged, healed and rare.”

Brené Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are

When I think about what love brings to us, I just set my intentions on practicing real ways in which I can simply free others to be who they are, to be love.

 Seek Acceptance  Look for the Good  Be Understanding
 Pay Real Attention  Really Listen  Practice Patience
 Be Affectionate  Speak Truthfully  Be Compassionate
 Always Be Kind  Help If You Can  Sincerely Apologize
Offer to Make Amends  Practice Forgiveness  Be Yourself

You know, I was all set to write about how I cultivate love, how I practice being love. But right now, I’m more interested in how you practice being love.

Do you have a real way you practice being love to add to this loving little list? Please share the love, thanks. Sharing is one way we are love. 

Photo courtesy of Archipoch via FreeDigitalPhotos.net

21 thoughts on “Cultivate Your Limitless Capacity to Love

    1. ♡eM Post author

      I don’t think many of us think of love in such simple terms. That’s probably how the joke-like phrase “it’s complicated” got its start. The opposite of confinement in regard to love is wondrous to behold. May we all know it more than enough. Thanks for visiting today and reading my post. Smiles!

      Like this

      Reply

♡ Please share your thoughts here. Many thanks and smiles for your kindness. ♡

