Try a Little Fearless Tenderness

“Real fearlessness is the product of tenderness. It comes from letting the world tickle your heart, your raw and beautiful heart. You are willing to open up, without resistance or shyness, and face the world. You are willing to share your heart with others.” —Chögyam Trungpa

Forgive me, for I am still sometimes a wretched little one, but with a wild one within who tickles my heart and tenderly cracks it wide open.

ID-100130297

I was born from a generation and to a family that showed little mercy for a raw and beautiful heart—I soon learned to hide my tender little soul.

I learned to survive in a rough-and-tumble, fear-filled little world, where unkindness was common enough, where emotions were often manipulatively managed, and anger sometimes fueled brute force.

“Treat your anger with the utmost respect and tenderness, for it is no other than yourself. Do not suppress it—simply be aware of it. Awareness is like the sun. When it shines on things, they are transformed. When you are aware that you are angry, your anger is transformed.”  —Thich Nhat Hanh

A clear choice came to me. I could either let life harden my heart and fill it with sadness, resentment and anger, or I could be fearless (just face my fears) and allow my heart to soften and be open to tenderness, vulnerability, and love.

I searched for and luckily discovered a different kind of world where hearts were shared. I quietly observed those who thrived within it for as long as it took me, and then simply smiled at this new world. I abandoned my futile resistance, a sad sense of comfort from the familiar, and gladly faced it—my fear was unfounded in this wonderful world.

For a while, though, I lived a double life of sorts, keeping my heart closed while living in the old, familiar, fearful world, and opening my heart completely the minute I stepped back into the brave new world I’d discovered, the people who showed me how to fearlessly open myself to tenderness, vulnerability, and love.

It didn’t take me long, though, to realize that this duality (closed/open, hard/soft, fear/love) was like prison furlough. I was an innocent and chose to completely free myself, to live full-time in love. I chose to leave the fearful people in my life, and I welcomed the fearless people into it.

Allow Life to Soften Your Heart, Not Harden It

We are naturally born to survive, to seek shelter and safety. And as we are nurtured, we thrive. We live happily because we are loved and we love in turn. Life experiences can be hurtful, harmful, and even horrific. Some become hardened, while others soften. The choice is here, right now.

Be as Tender and Vulnerable as an Open Wound

We all have this same soft spot, no matter how compassionate or indifferent, or kind or cruel we’ve been or choose to be. Tenderness does not discriminate and has no prejudice. It is here for all of us, and we are free to choose it. This raw openness allows us to truly love and be loved.

Feel the Sadness We All Share, Deeply and Freely

We sometimes want to close our eyes and hearts to sadness and suffering. It’s painful to see because when we see it, we actually feel it. This is good because when we feel our shared sadness, when we understand suffering, we naturally want to help. Then we do. Cultivating compassion helps us all.

Feel the Happiness We All Share, and Joyfully So

When hearts are closed and hardened, happiness cannot enter. Some find it hard to feel the peaceful, profound happiness we all share, joy. Some take life for granted, hold onto past pain and sorrow, or feel undeserving. We can choose to enjoy the good in life and rejoice in moments of shared happiness.

When we live in fear, whatever we fear might happen when we open up to tenderness and vulnerability, it’s impossible to open our hearts to love. But once we choose to do it, to be fearless (or at least face our fears), the possibilities that tenderness and vulnerability bring are limitless.

So try a little fearless tenderness. It’ll open your heart and soul to a world of love.

Photo courtesy of gubgib via FreeDigitalPhotos.net

13 thoughts on “Try a Little Fearless Tenderness

  1. smilecalm

    wonderful, inspiration for others
    to share and offer witness to your remarkable journey, eM.
    i’m again reminded how much fearless energy
    we must concentrate on our own
    without the loving support of family and friends.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ♡eM Post author

      My journey has not been so remarkable. Although I had a strange start, I was lucky to have met the most kindred of friends early on and a best friend’s mum who became my other mother. I grew up seeing my choices quite clearly. I think I am lucky in my resilience. Aren’t we all?

      Like

      Reply
        1. ♡eM Post author

          Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.” I know that when we open up to love, we are all freed to be ourselves. Love liberates us.

          Like

          Reply
  2. Stacey

    This post took my breath away, it was like reading my own journey!
    I am currently at the double life stage but working hard to be authentic with everyone around me, even the fearful people.
    I have realised that my life experiences were placed to teach me and help me grow and I feel the best I’ve felt in a long time.
    It’s can be hard to choose love and forgiveness but I’ll take that over the alternative any day!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mariel

    Beautifully written. I had always been in the throughs of hidden emotions due in part to growing up in a family where vulnerability was frowned upon. We were taught to be “strong” …. It’s taken me years to finally open up my heart again. Sometimes I revert to my shell just as you talked about when you lived a “dualistic” type of life with your own vulnerability. It really Is a process and something I would say I have to work on for the rest of my life. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this.

    Like

    Reply
    1. ♡eM Post author

      I think an open heart is where true strength lives. Vulnerability takes something altogether different than appearing to be strong.

      Like

      Reply

♡ Please share your thoughts here. Many thanks and smiles for your kindness. ♡

